Google
 

View Full Version : Bad Business...


Pages : [1] 2

Bahamaman
04-09-04, - 12:52 PM
I just want to warn people about the Bahamas Vacation Guide. Their reputability is in dispute.

It appears that due to their own extreme jealousy and obvious inability to compete on a fair level Bahamas Vacation Guide has taken an immateur and below-the-belt route to attacking BahamasB2B, Bahamas-Travel.info and Bahamascommunity. These three sites are part of the BahamasB2B Network, which is internationally respected and supported for its contributions to the Bahamas internet industry.

Bahamas Vacation Guide, frightened by the rapid growth of the BahamasB2B Network, has now resorted, almost laughably, to childish slander tactics to thwart the tremendous success of the three sites named.

The funny part is that while they, without any basis and with malicious intent, slanderously label BahamasB2B, Bahamas-Travel.info and Bahamascommunity as scams, the people operating the Bahamas Vacation Guide are actually under heavy suspicion for unethical business practices and have been confronted before for running scams.

It is a pity that the Bahamas Vacation Guide feels the need to resort to these unethical moves in order to keep their business afloat. It would reflect so much better on them if they just improved their business and were able to compete fairly, as most other business owners can in this world.

Resorting to low-level tactics that are easily thwarted in a courtroom, seems foolish, but then Bahamas Vacation Guide hasn't displayed much in the way of intelligent business practices or proper business ethics for that matter.

Rory
04-11-04, - 04:35 PM
I dont see anything on their web site about bahamascommunity, or they took it off? It is just as immateur to post messages like this though. If indeed they are bad mouthing the site, should deal with it behind the scenes, and/or post a simple 1 paragraph message on the bahamascommunity web site. Otherwise it just looks petty.

keithbvg
04-12-04, - 04:31 PM
This is not how we conduct our business. This is B2B's response to a posting on our site and legal action started regarding a copyright infringement. If you are interested see http://www.bahamasvacationguide.com/beware.html

For most everyone who didn't need to be bothered with this, my apologies for this poor conduct and improper use of this forum.

Keith - Bahamas Vacation Guide

Joe Baboon
04-12-04, - 04:40 PM
This is not how we conduct our business. This is B2B's response to a posting on our site and legal action started regarding a copyright infringement. If you are interested see http://www.bahamasvacationguide.com/beware.html

For most everyone who didn't need to be bothered with this, my apologies for this poor conduct and improper use of this forum.

Keith - Bahamas Vacation Guide

You sir, are a dumbarse. I have read your beware.html page, and nearly wet myself laughing at your accusations. "Bahamas Vacation Guide(s)" is such a generic term, it was quite stupid of you to register that as a business name in the first place. As to the navigation footer? HAH. Spending five minutes googling around would turn up hundreds of pages using a simmilar footer.

What next? Or you going to claim that they can't use tables to lay out their pages anymore? You have that patented?

Im not sure who initiated this "war" between BB2B and BVG, but you are both being silly and childish.

Delroy
04-12-04, - 04:44 PM
This is not how we conduct our business. This is B2B's response to a posting on our site and legal action started regarding a copyright infringement. If you are interested see http://www.bahamasvacationguide.com/beware.html

For most everyone who didn't need to be bothered with this, my apologies for this poor conduct and improper use of this forum.

Keith - Bahamas Vacation Guide

No need to apologize Keith,
This is what Bahamas Issues is all about.

My question is why can't we all just get along?
If someone copy your work then that means that you are an original. Anyone who looks carefully can tell an imitation if they know quality.

Just continue to do what you are doing and that's it.

Delroy
04-12-04, - 04:46 PM
You sir, are a dumbarse. I have read your beware.html page, and nearly wet myself laughing at your accusations. "Bahamas Vacation Guide(s)" is such a generic term, it was quite stupid of you to register that as a business name in the first place. As to the navigation footer? HAH. Spending five minutes googling around would turn up hundreds of pages using a simmilar footer.

What next? Or you going to claim that they can't use tables to lay out their pages anymore? You have that patented?

Im not sure who initiated this "war" between BB2B and BVG, but you are both being silly and childish.

Nobody on this site is a dumbarse Joe (including yourself). Let's keep this discussion clean.

Rory
04-12-04, - 05:00 PM
I still dont understand, who posted the original message here?

I know that BVG has been around from almost day 1 of the net, here in the Bahamas, at least around the time I started using it back in 96 ish. They were one of the first bahamas sites online, though i dont visit much touristy sites.

If b2b didnt licence the name, and it is located on a US server (is it?) then there really isnt much that can be done about it, unless you take the case to the US courts, or unless it is a trademarked name(?). My friend has the site BahamasYellowPages.com, though the name not licenced, the licenced name has been owned by someone for some 20 years, never used, and never renewed, but since it was never discontinued even not paid, they said we couldnt get the name licenced.

I have the domain BahamasSecurity.com and it was licenced name, but I couldnt get BahamasSecurity licenced as a name. If someone else comes out with Bahamas-Security.com, It wont hurt me, I spend 24/7 on my site anyway, and have content I doubt they will put into theirs, and if they do, Ill just make mine better :-)

Anyway, I think the best thing for all is to be unique in every way, if someone copies another, then make theirs better than the copy, add more content.

But then again, Im no lawyer so I cant speak of legal terms on this issue. If you have the name trademarked, I guess that is a different case. We dont know all the facts to really give any worthy opinion on it.

Ill stick neutral on this issue...

Delroy
04-12-04, - 11:01 PM
on the subject of copying, check out this site and tell us what this is/was a direct design copy of! :-)

http://www.bahamian.dynamohosting.net/index3/index.php

Hey that design is outdated now, need to copy the new one! (http://www.msn.com)

I don't think it's gonna be that easy to copy the new msn site. It's written in XML.

Rory
04-12-04, - 11:04 PM
save and edit, simple as that :shaky:

keithbvg
04-13-04, - 12:05 AM
Rory,

The name: Bahamas Vacation Guide is my business name on my government license. We don't think that folks can't use the name to describe what they are but in this instance they have used it to mimic us. It is repeated numerous times with or without plural. We feel that is meant to give one the impression they are us. Imagine what that would mean to folks ready to do business with us who accidently end up there?

We do continue to make improvements and won't let the problem stop us. We update constantly the FAQ page despite their having copied the original contents. Other areas of our site are always a work in progress.

Our records at the Internet archives date back to 1997. You can clearly see that much was copied. The things subject of our main complaints are the ones wherein they use our own work product to compete with us for placement. We are being fair and posting when they have corrected issues that we have pointed out.

-Keith

Delroy
04-13-04, - 12:22 AM
Sames those guys have closed up shop: http://www.bahamascommunity.com/bbs/ wonder why? :sarcastic

Bahamas Writer
04-13-04, - 09:52 PM
As I am always interested in who's who, how come when I went to Netsol and "Who Is", then typed in bahamasvacationguide.com, it came up "We are sorry. Your request could not be processed at this time. Please try again later."?

Delroy
04-13-04, - 10:02 PM
Netsol and Register.com are always having problems with their database.
Try a whois lookup at www.internic.com.

Bahamas Writer
04-13-04, - 10:11 PM
Netsol and Register.com are always having problems with their database.
Try a whois lookup at www.internic.com.

Thanks Delroy. Doesn't say who they are though.

Delroy
04-13-04, - 10:29 PM
Thats because the person who registered the domain purchased a stealth account along with it to hide their identity which is a smart thing to do nowadays with all the spammers and identity thieves out there.